Book Review: Brave New World

  • Book: Brave New World
  • Author: Aldous Huxley
  • Pages: 259
51RAH7c2NXL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Image Source: Amazon

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley is a riveting novel. I heard it was relevant to the politics of today, so I picked it up out of sheer interest. I love novels that criticize politics and the government, so I was pleased with this novel beyond what I expected. It isn’t the longest book, but it is sizable. I was so enthralled with the book, I finished it in one day. I didn’t want to put it down.

And that, is the secret of happiness and virtue–liking what you’ve got to do. All conditioning aims at that: making people like their unescapable social destiny.” (Huxley 16)

This quote perfectly describes the villain in Brave New World. Humans are made to be so pleased, they do not care they are being taken advantage of. And why would they? Everyone is psychologically altered to enjoy their function in society. No one, even the designated lower class, feels distaste toward the way of life. People are born genetically modified to be either first class citizens, or proles. However, through the psychological manipulation, the lowest class is happy doing what it does. Huxley is arguing with this novel that despite being given everything to be happy, it is not worth the loss of humanity. This video gives an excellent summary of the premise.

I am a sucker for novels of this sort. Any criticisms I would give would be forced on my behalf. However, there are aspects that I could see other readers not enjoying. Some of the wording is a little hard to follow in the longer paragraphs, which leads to some re-reading for clarification. This doesn’t bother me, as when I have to re-read a paragraph it is usually my own fault. The mind drifts where it wants to after all. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, even if I thought they wouldn’t enjoy it. The benefit of reading this book is to be wary of when we are being manipulated by higher authority, and hopefully by being aware can fight against it. It may not always be as obvious as bread and circuses, but appeasement should be looked out for in today’s age.

Word Count: 364

Leave a Reply

